The Pity Party

17 Aug

I’ve never really been one for the pity party

In fact I’ve never really had the opportunity to throw one for myself until last week. I’m not talking about the daily whinge after work about the woman that makes you want to scratch your eyes out, or the bitching to your girlfriend about the latest assclown you have dated…I’m talking about a full on ‘woe is me’ pity party.

I spoke to a very good friend of mine, who tells me that the pity party is a complete and necessary part of life. She indeed, had her own version on the same night as I, where she sat in, ordered a large pizza and a black forest gateaux and devoured it through tears.

So what makes a good pity party, you ask?

Here are the necessities:

Location: Your house, probably the floor or a couch. Somewhere where no one else can see you as you slober your words, and preferably where you can lay flat and scream obscenities.

Food: Basically anything fatty or sugary. Pizza works a treat or ideally something with a lot of dairy in my case. If you are already at the pity party, you may as well throw in a few ‘fat’ jibes along with a good case of cellulite to boot.

Drinks: Our friend alcohol tends to work the best on special occasions such as these. Gin or Rum if you really want a cracker of a night. Although, that said I have also found the ice-cream spider to be quite acceptable as it can take you back to times when you used to run under the sprinkler and ‘life was just so much easier then’ sigh.

Dress Code: Your underwear, the ones that are too small and the elastic is gone in the waist. This or a version of bleached track suit pants and that t-shirt someone was giving away at work as part of a merchandise drive.

Sound Track: Any sad songs, something by Mary J Blige tends to work well. Pretend you’re bad ass rap lover has been shot by a member of the crips and you are avenging his death through song.

Entertainment: It’s important to compile a list of things to worry about. Follow this up with condemning yourself and others for not being perfect. Grab a copy of Vogue and compare yourself to Miranda Kerr. Suspect everybody has a plot against you and then blame yourself for everything that has possibly gone wrong in your life.  Switch on ‘MTV Cribs’ in the background of all of this to remind yourself that you will never be that rich or that famous.

Time: Anywhere from 6- 12 hours should be suitable

Invitees: You

Anything Else: Tissues, a bucket (just in case you progress to the vomit cry) ensure you also haven’t washed your hair, had a manicure or pedicure, exfoliated or moisturised, or shaved your legs. It is crucial to feel as disgusting as possible during the pity party.

However, once it’s over, it’s important to take the time to recover as you really don’t want this pity party to proceed to ‘poor me syndrome’. This is where martyrdom kicks in and even your own mother wants to set you on fire because she can’t stand your slobbering any more.

7 Responses to “The Pity Party”

  1. signorinabea August 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Haha apparently throwing pity parties is a skill, too?

  2. Miss Procrastination August 18, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    HaHa! Yes it is, I’m going to make sure I throw one for myself more often sometimes! I just read your blog as well and I think it’s fantastic! 🙂

    • signorinabea August 18, 2010 at 12:39 am #

      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me. 🙂

  3. Catherine August 25, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Haha, I love this post. Usually my pity parties sort of sneak up on me – I’m dateless on a Friday night, suddenly I find myself in my PJs, eating ice cream directly out of the carton and depressed as hell. Maybe I should get all the materials needed for a pity party and just keep them on hand, should the need arise?

    Love your blog!

    • Miss Procrastination August 30, 2010 at 6:01 am #

      Ha Ha, good idea! Maybe they need to have a dedicated aisle at the supermarket for us as well, so we can just use the 12 items or less queue at any time of the day! 🙂

      Thanks I love your blog too!

  4. emellesadventures September 5, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    Who knew there was an art to pity parties! I just threw one for myself, but will remember these for next time.
    Just found your blog when this post was listed as “possibly related post” to pity party one I just wrote. Great stuff, and look forward to reading more from you!

    • Miss Procrastination September 6, 2010 at 2:06 am #

      Thanks!! I think a few added tools are always a plus when it comes to throwing a pity party for yourself! 🙂 I think your blog is great as well! 🙂

Leave a comment